Berryz Koubou & C-ute Battle Concert Tour 2008 Review

Berryz Koubou & C-ute’s spring concert is now on the tracker.

~Berryz Kamen vs Cutie Ranger~ with Berryz Koubou Tracks

~Berryz Kamen vs Cutie Ranger~ with C-ute Tracks

I will write a review on this now! (image heavy)

01. Opening

02. Darling I Love You – Berryz Koubou & C-ute

Performance – 9/10

I’ve always liked this song. It’s not too slow or not too fast, just a nice & simple song. The costumes for this are really cute, but the dance is way too simple. But it’s not really a danceable song so it’s alright I guess. Everyone sounds great in this, although I wish they went with the C-ute version because I like the lyrics better for some reason. Also, Projecthello needs to update the color coding for this, it’s really off lol.

03. Special Generation – Berryz Koubou & C-ute

Performance – 7/10

Anyone else getting tired of this song? They perform it at every concert. I’ve never been a big fan of this song. It’s nice to listen to once in awhile but it was never my favorite Berryz song nor do I consider it to be one of their best like most fans do. Also, the same girls sing the same parts over & over again in every concert so it’s like you’ve seen one performance, you’ve seen them all.

04. Ooki na Ai de Motenashite – Berryz Koubou & C-ute

Performance – 8.5/10

This is one of my favorite C-ute songs & I don’t recall ever seeing a concert performance of this for (I just started watching concerts, my first one Morning Musume’s Bonkyu concert). I really wish they did the full song though. I really liked how the crowd joined in when they sang “OH YEAH OH YEAH”, they looked pumped for this song. Airi, Maimi & Miyabi sounded good, & I am surprised they gave Yurina lines instead of Risako. Which brings me to say that I LOVE Yurina’s live voice for some reason. I prefer it more than her recorded voice or whatever you call it. An Airi/Yurina version of this song would be amazing.

05. VTR – Member Introduction

This is really cute. I liked the part were Captain Saki’s balloon was stuck in a tree, but she was too short to reach it so along came Yurina, lol. The song is different, they recorded it to have both Berryz & C-ute & it has slightly changed lyrics. I prefer Berryz’s voices singing this to C-ute’s though because C-ute’s voices are to c-utesy for this song, pun defiantly intended. I love that Maasa & Kanna are the leaders of their groups, seeing how they usually get no attention, it’s kinda weird. But I’m not complaining. I wonder how it happened though. They probably just pulled names out of a basket or something.

06. MC1

07. Namida no Iro – C-ute

Performance – 9.5/10

This song took about 10 listens to grow on me, but it’s safe to say that it’s one of my favorite C-ute songs now. It’s nice to see the dance when it’s not in slow-motion, it’s one of my favorite parts of the song. Airi & Maimi hog the lines again, but they aren’t horrible vocalists so I don’t mind that much, I just wish there was more Chisato love! Maimi actually sounded really good in this, I’ve heard a lot of people say that she sucks at live singing but I was impressed. The outfits go along well with this song, Maimi is looking really good in hers. I wasn’t even at the concert but this pumped me up.

08. Munasawagi Scarlet – Berryz Koubou

Performance – 8.5/10

Yurina owned this whole performance with her live singing. I don’t know why I like it so much! Yurina is not that great of a singer, but she sounds amazing live for some reason. Anyway, one of my favorite Berryz songs although once again, the song was cut. The only full song so far was Darling I Love You. They cut out Chinami’s one line, which is the best part of the song. The dancing was really great, especially the instrumental break. I never knew Maasa was such a good dancer. Shes no Saki or Momoko but she impressed me. It’s looks like the dance went a little too fast for Risako, she kinda looked lost at some points. Dancing is really hard to do though, especially fast dancing, so I forgive her. The outfits really didn’t fit the song though.

09. LALALA Shiawase no Uta – C-ute

Performance – 9/10

OK, the outfits are REALLY out of place. Regardless, I love this song. You’re probably like “WTF is her problem” but I think this song is catchy in the evil kind of way. It’s trying to get “LALALALALALALALALALA” stuck in your head for the whole day & it works. It sounds weird listening to the Tsunku voice in the backround though because I have always been listening to a version made by a kind soul on the Morning Musume BBS that has practically all the annoying Tsunku voices edited out. Anyway, Maimi sounded really good in this again. In the recorded version, everyone sounds like they sucked in helium but they all sound great here. At the end, Berryz Koubou suddenly comes out & helps sing the last two rounds of “LALALALALALALALALALALALALA”s.

10. Dschinghis Khan – Berryz Koubou

Performance – 8/10

I like this song but it got really old after listening to it too much. They finally played a song full again, although this song is naturally short so I can see why. The part where Maasa, Miyabi & Risako sing “shouri wo tsukamu no sa” sounds like it wasn’t being sung live, you can hear Risako’s “SAA-AAA-A-AA-AAAAA-AA” a mile away. It sounded exactly the same as the studio recording, it’s kinda weird but I do think it was sung live by Maasa & Miyabi. Hey UFA, why not just not give the line to Risako if you’re going to do this? How stupid. I don’t understand why they give lines to girls who can’t sing them. Everyone sounded good though, even Risako sounded better than usual despite killing that one part.

11. Tokaikko Junjou – C-ute

Performance – 8.5/10

I remember this came out around the time I was starting to get into C-ute. I remember everyone was like “This song is amazing” & “I love the PV!”. Back then I still couldn’t name all the members if I recall correctly. I remember listening to this all the time, I still love this song. Airi is the only line hogger this time, but she is usually good at live singing so yay. She didn’t sound tired one bit, surprisingly, since she sang practically the whole song. Maimi looked & sounded exhausted though. Chisato had this really awesome dance break where she was the only one on focus right before Maimi’s last speaking part.

12. Tsukiatteru no ni Kataomoi – Berryz Koubou

Performance – 8.5/10

This is one of my favorite Berryz songs ever & it looks like this will become a concert song, it’s been performed a lot lately. The song was cut, ugh. Another performance owned by Yurina’s singing. Risako sounded tired & man-ish which kinda ruined the song. When Maasa is dancing, I keep waiting for that hat that’s on the back of her jeans to fall off. All of them seemed tired, but most of them were energetic, a great performance with great effort.

13. Very Beauty – Sugaya Risako & Suzuki Airi

Performance – 8/10

At first, Risako is the only one on stage. The crowd is shouting her name really loud. She still sounds tired & man-ish, but you can tell she is trying to sing nicely. She is struggling with the high notes though. Her voice cracked at one point. Out comes Airi. The crowd is also shouting her name loudly. She sounded like a little kid but oddly, she sounded really beautiful doing so. Risako joined her for the second chorus, which I don’t get because she already sang the first one by herself. Her voice overpowers Airi’s because she is singing too loud. I just noticed Airi has a new outfit on, lol. Overall a nice performance, but Risako is not really suited for ballads.

14. Bokura no Kagayaki – Tokunaga Chinami, Sudou Maasa, Kumai Yurina, Okai Chisato & Arihara Kanna

Performance – 8/10

When I first heard who was singing in this song, I was super excited because this is one of my favorite C-ute songs & the people singing it are some of my favorite H!P members. What sucked though is that the only one who got lines was Chisato. Chisato is always good, but I wish everyone got lines because I was seriously really excited for this but my hopes kinda went down the drain. Everyone was energetic & into the song though, so it’s forgivable. Chisato especially seemed into it, this is “her song” after all.

15. Sayonara Hageshiki Koi – Shimizu Saki, Yajima Maimi, Tsugunaga Momoko, Natsuyaki Miyabi, Nakajima Saki & Hagiwara Mai

Performance – 9/10

I remember not liking this song at all, but now I love it. I wish the group was a bit smaller though, it’s like they shoved all the girls who weren’t in the other shuffle songs into this one, but they couldn’t pick a better combination for this song, it’s absolutely perfect. This song reminds me of Warera! Berryz Kamen, it has the same feel. Warera! is the theme song of this concert & I feel that this song would be a good second choice. This is the first time I heard this song live, & I’m impressed. Also, a bit off-topic, but listen to this is you haven’t.

16. MC3

17. That’s the Power – Berryz Koubou & C-ute

Performance – 7/10

I am so surprised I was actually able to listen to this as this is probably my least favorite Hello! Project song. It’s not a annoying as I thought is was, but it doesn’t make me want to listen again. At one point, behind Chinami, there is this guy holding up a sign that says “mikan”. This is not a Morning Musume concert lol. I saw some girls in the audience too, most of them looked like 20-30 though. It’s still nice to know that they have girl fans. Erika had to go through the whole song with some kind of rag in her hand.

18. Do Don Ga Don Ondou – Umeda Erika with Berryz Koubou & C-ute

Performance – 10/10

I love this song. C-ute’s last album was disappointing, but this song saved it. I’ve never seen anyone say it was a bad song. Erika is a really great vocalist, I wish they would let her sing more. Her voice sounds a bit like Airi’s except it’s a bit more consistent. I’m so glad they gave this song to her, I don’t think anyone else could pull it off & it’s nice to see a not so popular member get attention. She seemed very excited & took advantage of this because this is probably the most she will ever sing. Erika just sounded great & this is easily one of the best performances of the concert.

19. Honto no Jibun – Buono!

Performance – 7.5/10

This started right after Erika’s song. Seriously, that was super fast. They are wearing a really shiny type of black clothing, it makes them look like serious motorcycle fanatics. The crowd was going absolutely wild. They sounded good in the verses but they were kinda off in the chorus. This was really short. You have no idea how hard it was to get a decent screenshot of this.

20. Renai Rider – Buono!

Performance – 8/10

I remember when this song first came out. I was listening to it like 20 times a day. I don’t love it that much anymore, but it’s still one of my favorite Buono! songs. It has a really unique feel to it. Again with the crowd going wild. This was way better than Honto no Jibun, they actually sounded less tired. The outfits really match this song. There was a lot of lights, sometimes it was too dark to see the girls clearly & sometimes I thought I was going to have a seizure. That aside, a nice performance.

21. Natsu Doki Lipstick – Shimizu Saki, Yajima Maimi & Nakajima Saki

Performance – 9.5/10

This was originally Maimi’s song so of course she is here but this time, she is joined with the two Saki’s. I’ve never been a big fan of this song but it’s nice to listen to in a while, & this performance made me like it even more. These are probably the best Hello! Project Kids dancers so it’s naturally full of win. Maimi sang the whole song, so the two Saki’s were only backup dancers, but my gosh, they were really into it & this is the best dance performance seen so far. The instrumental break was crazy. I liked Maimi’s smug “thank you” at the end, it’s like she was saying “Yeah, we’re THAT awesome.”

22. Massara Blue Jeans – C-ute

Performance – 8/10

Berryz is seriously getting shafted, C-ute had more stage time than them & there are more C-ute songs than Berryz. They played an extended version of the opening & for some reason everyone sang (or shouted, I should say) Kanna’s “massara BURUU JIINZU!” which sucked because I love me some Kanna voice. Maimi is really tired, seeing how she sang the last song by herself & she is the lead in this one. She seriously sounded like a man & kinda ruined the performance. All of a sudden Risako comes out & starts singing solo. Her shouting also ruined the performance.

23. Jiriri Kiteru – Berryz Koubou & C-ute

Performance – 8/10

Practically everyone loves this song, & honestly, I never liked it that much before. In fact, it was one of the last Berryz singles I listened to. Now I really like it but ugh, again with the line hogging. Risako sounded like a man again. Maimi sounded like she is going to faint from exhaustion. The dance was nice though.

24. MC4

25. Jump – Berryz Koubou & C-ute

Performance – 9.5/10

This is one of C-ute’s best songs ever & it deserved to be more than a b-side. I really felt the energy in this. This performance was just simply amazing.

26. Yuujou Junjou oh Seishun – Berryz Koubou & C-ute

Performance – 8.5/10

Don’t kill me, but I seriously never heard this song before. I’m not that much into old Berryz songs with the exception of about 10. I’ve heard people say it’s “the best Berryz b-side”. After listening to it now, it’s a good song but not that good. Anyway, everyone was pumped & looked like they were having fun, a nice performance.

27.MC5

28. Warera! Berryz Kamen – Berryz Koubou & C-ute

Performance – 10/10

This song will always be awesome merely for the fact that the unpopular members got the leads instead of the popular members. This is the theme song of the concert, & it beats out the Erika song for the best performance of the concert. Everyone sounded fantastic. I am so glad they let Maasa keep her solo instead of giving it to Risako or Airi or something. This is “Maasa’s song” & she is the leader of this thing so I see no reason to though, but you never know with Hello! Project. The part were she sang her solo was the best thing. Ever. Automatic win.

29. MC6

30. Sakura Chirari – Berryz Koubou & C-ute

Performance – 8.5/10

This was the first C-ute song I ever heard, although it’s probably my least favorite of their singles. I still like it though. I heard C-ute more than Berryz, but that’s only natural I guess. Again with the cliché pairings though (Risako/Airi, Maimi/Miyabi etc) That gets really old. All the girls keep waving to the audience. This was a nice choice for ending the concert.

Overall – 9/10

Winner – C-ute

I normally prefer Berryz but C-ute was just fantastic here, no doubt. I don’t think it’s Berryz’s fault though, they kinda got the short end of the stick.

So that’s it! Here are some screenshots I took from the Member Introduction.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

