Hello! Project 2008 Summer Wonderful Hearts Kouen ~Hishochi de Date Itashima Show~ Review

Hello! Project 2008 Summer Wonderful Hearts Kouen

Here is my review for the newly released Wonderful Hearts concert! I was initially really excited for this to come out, since the setlist is kinda awesome. I actually haven’t heard of many of these songs before, but I’m really excited to hear them!

01. Opening

02. Natsu Love Romance – All

Performance – 8.5/10

I have never heard this song before. I don’t think I have ever even heard OF this song before…whose song is it? Anyway, it’s really cute in the beginning where all the members come out. And I really like the song now that it has finished…summery and cute! This was shorter than I thought…usually the opening song of the concert is fully played. There isn’t really that much to say except…tennis rackets.

03. Manatsu no Kousen – All

Performance – 9/10

Oh yes, I love me some Manatsu no Kousen. I like how some of the girls hit a tennis ball with their rackets to the audience. Is it me, or are the vocals pre-recorded? I think it was the same for the last performance too. Boooo. Oh well. Risa sounds AMAZING. She should release a solo version of this song. The dance was a bit weird though, all they did was swing the tennis rackets around.

04. VTR – Member Introduction

lol like no one cheered for Inaba Atsuko, the H!P Eggs or Mano Erina.

05. MC1

06. Edo no Temari II – C-ute

Performance – 10/10

Odd, C-ute starts off the group songs – I thought it would be Morning Musume who would sing first. Anyway, it must SUCK to have to dance in those outfits lol. It looks so hard. At one point in the very beginning of the performance, you can see Erika’s shorts under her skirt-like thing, which are way too short in my opinion lol. The dance is hot. And all of the members sang well! Even Maimi who usually sucks at live singing. Saki’s voice went really deep – she usually sounds like someone who has inhaled helium. O_o It kinda of surprised me in a good way. Also, Kanna is hot and I do not see why she never gets any attention. In my opinion, she is just a little bit under Maimi on the hotness scale. Seriously, she’s beautiful. Oh Chisato, why are you so awesome? Her solo was really good. The effort they put into the dance and vocals makes this a perfect performance.

07. Namida no Iro – C-ute

Performance – 9/10

They didn’t even want to attempt to do the dance in those outfits lololol. Airi looked awesome after her first solo. It’s fun to watch Kanna’s hat as she dances lol. Maimi’s vocals are straining a little. Lol Airi’s voice cracked. She still manages to look awesome though. Saki has some really creepy facial expressions. O_o Airi’s voice cracked just a little bit again. However, she sang her last solo perfectly! Amazing Airi~ She was practically the only one noticeable in this performance lol there are like 2934290 close ups of her and only like 5 of Maimi or something. Anyway, not as good as Edo, but awesome nevertheless.

08. Papancake – Kusumi Koharu

Performance – 9/10

What is this!? Kusumi Koharu actually SINGING LIVE!? Excuse me while I have a heart attack.

I was initially gonna skip this, but she’s actually not lip-synching this time! And lol how she sounds TONS better than the original recording. Actually, now that I re-watch this, I think this is prerecorded but I’m not deleting what I said earlier because then this would be too short lol. Anyway, Koharu is really great on stage. Despite not being able to sing that well, she is an awesome dancer and has a great amount of charisma.

09. Anataboshi – Milky Way

Performance – 8.5/10

I used to LOVE this song, but I overplayed it and now it kinda annoys me. It’s a good song, but don’t use it more than it’s worth. I think this performance is prerecorded. Sayaka is my favorite Egg. She’s so cute but cool looking at the same time. She also has quite an athletic body. O_o Moving on…a nice performance, but nothing really stands out.

10. Yuke Yuke Monkey Dance – Berryz Koubou

Performance – 8/10

WHERE IS MY MORNING MUSUME. I love you Berryz and C-ute, but I want some MM plz. Anyway. Wow the crowd REALLY loves this song. The outfits kinda suck…they are just cheaper looking ones from the outfits of the PV. It is extremely annoying to watch Risako dance because she puts NO EFFORT into it. Seriously, dancing in concerts shouldn’t be that hard anymore, you’ve been doing it for like 4 and a half years…ahem. Maasa is awesome. Right after Maasa and Chinami’s parts, Risako sang her “tiki tiki tiki” part and she kinda sounded like she hiccuped lololol but she does it again later so I guess that’s just how she sings that part O_o. Maasa is being awesome again and Chinami’s yankii monkey was also awesome. I have only talked about the first 2 minutes or so of the song so I should stop before I write a novel. So anyway. Pretty awesome performance if you disregard Risako.

11. Dschinghis Khan – Berryz Koubou

Performance – 8.5/10

Way better than Yuke Yuke. The singing and dancing is fantastic. Maybe except for Risako, but that’s a given…she did sound better here though. Although like in the Berryz and C-ute concert last April, in the part where Maasa, Miyabi and Risako sing a line, you can clearly hear Risako lip-synching that part because it sounds the exact same as the recording. Anyway, there is not much else to say…this song has been concert performed like 3, 4 times already? Since the song is so repetitive, all the performances seem the same. Needs moar Yurina though, she is the only member who hasn’t stood out in this performance or Yuke Yuke.

12. MC2 – Berryz Koubou

13. Resonant Blue – Morning Musume

Performance – 1000000000000000/10

Finally we get some Morning Musume. I really like the outfits – weird looking but sophisticated, in a way. I can’t fully explain how amazing this performance is. If I was a newbie to Hello! Project and this performance was one of the first things I have seen from Morning Musume, I’d be hooked. The singing and dancing are fantastic…everyone does so well! They are all really into the song and dance and you can tell that they actually want to be there on stage and there is so much effort put into it. So far, this is the best performance in the concert and it looks like it will be hard to beat.

14. Mikan – Morning Musume

Performance – 9.5/10

Koharu’s “MIKAN IKKIMASU!” was cute. The crowed is pumped O_o. They follow the dance moves and chant over and over again. If they like it so much they should have bought more copies of the CD :3 Anyway. Fabulous singing and dancing again. They don’t even song tired at all. But, I feel that the moods of Resonant Blue and this song are quite different, and although I do love this song, the performance wasn’t as great as Resonant Blue. Maybe it’s because the song was cut, I don’t know, but still, great performance!

15. MC3 – Niigaki Risa, Kamei Eri and Michishige Sayumi

16. KoiING – Takahashi Ai with a crapload of Eggs

Performance – 10/10

To be specific, the Eggs are Noto Arisa, Sengoku Minami, Sawada Yuri, Mori Saki, Kitahara Sayaka, Kikkawa Yuu, Maeda Yuuka and Fukuda Kanon. Putting all these names in the title would make it look too long. :3 Anyway, Ai-chan looks beautiful! I love her dress! And the huge flower in her hair is cute. She has such a lovely voice. And no offense to anyone, but I don’t see why they put all these Eggs in this performance. I actually like most of them now, but they barely did anything and just seemed to be there to be there. They apparently sang the chorus but Ai-chan’s voice was louder. Oh well. I could fall in love with her voice…she’s just too amazing. Great performance.

17. Hajimete Kichibiru wo Kasaneta Yoru – Lin Lin, Suzuki Airi and Ogawa Saki

Performance – 10/10

Never heard of this song either. I looked it up and apparently it’s a song from Matsuura Aya’s first album. But wow, this was a beautiful performance. I really like the song and all three girls sounded top-notch. Putting Saki there was kind of random, but wow, she’s a great singer! I can’t believe she is only 11 years old. I’ve heard of her but never heard her sing. She was awesome! Although she looked like she was about to cry numerous times. There are no words to describe how great Lin Lin and Airi sounded…each note was perfect. This concert is really good so far!

18. Chu! Natsu Party – Michishige Sayumi and Sugaya Risako

Performance – 9/10

I like how they put very good vocalists in the last performance and…not so good vocalists in this one. Weren’t these two paired up in the last H!P concert? Some variety would be nice. But anyway, finally a song I have heard of! It’s pretty awesome. The outfits are obnoxiously cute. They may not be able to sing that well, but they are both really cute! Although, I’m sorry for picking on her too much, I really do like her, but Risako was not the right choice for this song. This song is just not for someone with a deeper voice. At least she seemed to be trying though. Sayumi’s vocals were actually stable. The end was so cute! Risako blew a kiss and then covered her face in embarrassment, it was so cute! And Sayumi was just being Sayumi, which is always good. Good performance, but it’s more fun to watch than to listen to. :3

19. MC4 – Umeda Erika and Hagiwara Mai

20. C/C (Cinderella/Complex) – High-King

Performance – 9.5/10

This is hot. The song is great and the dance is so fun to watch! I have always wanted to see this performed live. I wish this was a permanent unit because everyone in the group fits in, even Maeda Yuuka. By the way, she sounded great. Once again, top-notch singing and dancing. What the heck happened between the concert in January and this one? Everyone has improved so much!

21. Kioku no Meiro – High-King

Performance – 9.5/10

A lot of people have been dying to see this performance, and I have only just recently joined the bandwagon. At first, I liked C/C more, but then I finally listened to this song again and realized how great it is. It’s different from most H!P songs but still really catchy. I really hope this song will be performed in other concerts in the future, by anyone. The music at the start is being played on a piano for some reason. It’s not like that in the original song, right? I can’t remember lol. Reina does the same expressions over and over again. Not just these two performance, but in the whole concert so far. It’s kinda annoying. The dance is so awesome! And the crowd goes wild. Shimizu Saki is so awesome. Ahhh, the song was cut. T_T At least they included Yuuka’s cute little solo part, my favorite part of the song and she sings it so well! Great performance, but it was too short!

22. MC5 – High-King

23. Manopiano – Mano Erina

Sorry to all six of you Mano fans out there, but I skipped this. I can’t stand this song and I’m not really that fond of Manoeri yet although I LOVE Lucky Aura. Hopefully she gets more material like that in the future and I just might start to like her more.

24. Tokonatsu Musume – Niigaki Risa, Kamei Eri and Mitsui Aika

(it was IMPOSSIBLE to get a good screen shot of this ><)

Performance – 8/10

Yay, more songs I haven’t heard of~ But I’m glad they have consistency, all of these songs have a very summery feel. Ah~ The instrumental is really cute! And I love the outfits, Gaki-san looks so cute! As much as I like the song, outfits, the dance and the people performing the song, the singing wasn’t that impressive. I really think that Risa and Eri are good singers and that Aika has shown nothing but improvement since she joined, but I don’t know. I just don’t think this was a good song for any of them – their voices all sound too deep.

25. Tropica~l Koishite~ru – Jun Jun, Sudou Maasa, Kumai Yurina, Okai Chisato, Hagiwara Mai and Arihara Kanna

Performance – 9.5/10

This is the performance I was probably most excited about. It has most of my favorite Hello! Project members in it – what’s not to love? And I really love the song…I actually only first listened to the song when I first saw this setlist because I was curious, and then I just loved it at first listen. Anyway~ Jun Jun’s “hontou ni?” was so cute! Even though she is the second oldest member of the current Morning Musume, she just looks and acts so much younger. I love the outfits! The colors are amazing and they compliment each of the girls nicely. I lol’d when Chisato was standing next to Yurina, Maasa and Jun Jun, she’s so short :P. And in one part, Mai looked almost as tall as Maasa O_o. It was weird. Jun Jun get all of the solos and the rest is just group parts, except for a little monologue Maimai has, which she did nicely. She looked kinda ticked though lol. The singing is the best part, but as much as I love me some Jun Jun, there wasn’t enough Maasa, Chisato, Kanna and Yurina…they just seemed to be background dancers…

26. Kousui – Tanaka Reina, Shimizu Saki, Tokunaga Chinami, Umeda Erika and Nakajima Saki

Performance –

Kouwhat? This song is an old Melon Kinenbi single for those who didn’t know, like me. I really need to start listening to older songs O_o. Before even watching this, I will predict that Reina will be the only one to get solos. Here they come…all in green dresses which are cute. Nakajima Saki is such a good dancer – well, both Saki’s are, but everyone knows that Captain is a great dancer so it goes without saying. It’s so fun to watch Nakasaki in this performance, her moves are perfect and she seems to be happy. I love the “ahhhhh” in the background, it gives the song a really soothing feeling, if that makes sense. So far, only Reina solos…oh Hello! Project, how predictable you have come. Whoa, this little rap part suddenly showed up…I can’t tell if the girls are lip-syncing or not, it doesn’t sound like their voices. There is Reina, doing the same expressions again. >< I like how happy Erika seems to be, always a smile on her face~ Good performance, but like the last one, it’s annoying on how that everyone who isn’t Reina basically just doesn’t matter to the performance.

27. Gachinko de Ikou! – Buono!

Performance – 9.5/10

I was wondering where Buono! was. I’m not even going to say how much I love this song as it would take too long to do. <3 Buono! ikkimasu~ I love the lights in the beginning! This group always has the best stage set up in concerts. I’m so excited they are finally having their own concert in February! Love the outfits, but I wish Miyabi would stop wearing that hairstyle, it makes her face look even longer. O_o Momoko sounds like she’s in pain when she sings her first solo. Airi’s “hai donmai” was so cute! She’s one of the few Hello! Project members who sounds fantastic live 90% of the time. Miyabi’s voice cracked just a bit in her line in the first chorus and then she kinda shouts her line in the second chorus. Then the song suddenly gets cut…I was expecting the full song. D: Oh well. Nice performance – the singing was a bit off but for some reason, I really liked how they sounded.

28. Kiss! Kiss! Kiss! – Buono!

Performance – 9.5/10

The singing is way better than the last performance! And Momoko looks like she is actually paying attention to what she’s doing. The dance during the instrumental break is so fun to watch~ There really isn’t anything else to say though…it was good, but there just aren’t really words to describe it well enough.

29. MC6 – Buono!


30. Egao Yes Nude – Morning Musume

Performance – 9/10

This is certainly a random choice for this concert. The dresses are hot though. And wow, Takahashi always sounds so good when she does those growl-like parts. So amazing *_* Lin Lin is really making me laugh, the expressions on her face is some scenes are so weird. :P Congrats to Koharu for totally butchering her line. Ai-chan touches her face too much. The dancing is really great and the most notable thing here…not much else to say.

31. Massara Blue Jeans – Berryz Koubou and C-ute

Performance – 8.5/10

Lol weird outfits. Wow, Maasa really has some muscles there. O_o Why did Risako steal Airi’s line? D: Her little smile that seemed to say “YES! I sounded good for once!” was cute though. Kanna looks so, so confused. All singing is great though. Oh my GOSH, it’s so weird seeing them do those hip thrusts. O_o My mind… -twitch- O_o I’m close to most of their ages, and I can’t even imagine doing something like that in front of thousands of old men. It just looks wrong. Especially because of the looks on some of their faces…Um. I’m scarred now…I think I’ll just move on…Risako totally just shouted her last line, she was so loud. O_o Maimi actually sounds really good here. Not much else to say…

32. Special Generation – Berryz Koubou and C-ute

Skipped. I’m so tired of this song, it’s not worth my time anymore.

33. Love & Peace! Hero ga Yattekita. – All

Performance – 10/10

You know, I have never gotten around to listen to this song. I’ve listened to many different concert performances of it, but never the official recording…now that I’m hearing it, it reminds me of Berryz Koubou’s Yuujou Junjou oh Seishun. It’s really catchy! Lol Sayumi looks like a midget when standing next to Erika and Maimi. Gaki-san is so cute~ I am out of words. Great performance.

34. MC7


35. Ame no Furanai Hoshi de wa Aisenai Darou? – All

Performance – 1000000000000000000000000000000/10

This beats Resonant Blue as the best performance in this concert. Everything is so amazing. I like how they are lined up like a chorus and how they all look tired but they are singing really well, it’s kinda inspiring. The voices all mesh so well. And JunLin. JUNLIN. This is the most awesome thing in the concert, ever. They totally nailed their lines. I can’t explain how much I love this…great job everyone.

Overall Rating – 9/10

All performances were great, but sometimes, I felt just a bit lost, maybe because I wasn’t familiar with some of the songs. Until next time, and thanks for reading!

One Response

  1. i know once the setlist came out i started listening to the songs i never heard of. the 1st song is from a pucchi best album btw. i can’t wait to get my copy. thanks for the review im super excited about watching this now!

Leave a Reply

